Twas A Magical Evening at the Greenhouse

Twas a magical evening at the Greenhouse.

The first thing you notice is the smell of the plants, something living, the scent of fertile dirt.  At this time of the year it catches you by surprise as snow has now covered what was once, merely months ago grass.   The ambience was tranquil among the trees decorated in shades of blue, gold, white, purple and green.  Everything gleamed in the traditional colours of Christmas whether it was lights or stockings or glass ornaments, even the purses and scarfs glowed.  One could walk into different areas and the colour of these areas would all be the same.  I was particularly smitten with the blue section, the aqua tree and it’s ornaments, the shade of peacock blue that mixed in with the aqua were beautiful along with the glass blown vases, candle holders & coffee mugs that adorned one table.  The richness in detail was magnified by the baby blue and midnight blue paintings and sketches that covered the walls in this area.  The waft of blueberries sent me back to my childhood when my Grandmother and I would go berry picking together.  This memory made me smile.

The essence of pine and sandalwood seemed to follow me no matter where I went, until I sauntered into the baked goodies.  Any die hard dessert person would have thought they were in Willy Wonka’s Chocolate Factory.  After several samples of almond bark, cookies, cakes, and pies I decided to try some not so sweet offerings such as the perogies and sausage that were around the corner from the desserts.  Shortly after, I ventured to the Minnie’s Café which is named after the resident female cat, where to my delight I soon discovered the complimentary coffee, which mixed with the sugary desserts seemed to further energize me and heighten my senses.

As the evening progressed I sat down near the fountains and listened to several classical versions of Christmas songs performed by two very talented young ladies.  I found myself sipping my coffee and singing a note here and there, sometimes humming in unison with the musicians.  I thought about why I had not been singing anymore, when did I abandon this activity and why?  I was even amazed that I sounded so good and then it hit me of course it is Christmas time and singing has always made me feel good about my life.  Singing is a part of who I am, as is my desire to write.  My X-mas spirit had waned a great deal in the past few days with some recent developments that had disappointed me and I needed a day to digest these matters.  I decided that this had to stop.  I am in an environment that is peaceful, I am enjoying myself here and I felt that inner glow rise up in me and shine.

Soon after, I was greeted by a local resident of the Greenhouse by the name of Charlie who seemed perfectly content to not only jump on my lap from out of nowhere, but linger for several minutes where he rubbed his chin on my arm and shoulders.  It was only later I learned his name was Charlie through one of the employees at the greenhouse.  He was a friendly little gent, gray in colour and was a tabby, not much older than 8 months.   I wonder if maybe Charlie was an angel, perhaps a sign that God was listening and felt the sadness that I had been dealing with in the last 24 hours.  Had Charlie been sent to comfort me ?

To all a good night and may the magic of the season bring you many blessings~ xx

Leave a Reply

