Tis the Season to Tend to the Apple Tree

Apples are strewn about my yard,

What to do with them all is what makes it hard,

I can make jams, jellies, cider, apple sauce and pies,

Once I pick up all the apples I am starting to despise,

before that the tree had to be trimmed and the apples picked from places higher than the ladder could reach,

I gave some apples away, a box here and there and to some, just a few each,

I am glad to report that today was the end as the branches were cut and placed in the trash,

until next fall and we do it all over again or pay someone to do it and pay them with cash.

In my research on what one can do with apples I came up with more than just your typical pies, jellies, jams, apple sauce and cider recipes.   I found apple butter recipes, apple upside down cakes, apple butter tarts, apple relish, to name a few.  A few friends suggested apple peanut butter sandwiches, which sounds quite appealing to me for those nights when you want a quick little meal or something a little different to take to work for lunch.   Apple crisp came up a few times in my conversations with the neighbours.  I must admit I love apple crisp, always have, especially on a cold winter’s night with a dab or two of vanilla ice cream when it is fresh out of the oven.

Then I remembered that I had a recipe from my Grandmother for apple chutney that I have never made.   I was excited in my pursuit of this recipe as it had been handed down to me by my Grandmother who has now passed on, and in her day they baked all the time.

So in honour of her memory and her love of cooking, I share this with you.  I have revised the name to be something she would have liked.

Grandma’s Rocking Apple Chutney:

 

Ingredients:

2 large tart cooking apples, peeled, cored, and chopped ( I used McIntosh apples) 

1/2 cup chopped onion

1/4 cup red wine vinegar

1/4 cup brown sugar

½ teaspoon honey

A handful of raisins – these are optional

1 Tbsp grated orange peel

1 Tbsp grated fresh ginger 

 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

 

Makes about 2 cups.

   Combine all ingredients in a medium saucepan and stir well.   Bring to a boil; reduce heat and simmer, covered, for  30 – 40 minutes.   Uncover and simmer over low heat for a few minutes in order to cook off any excess liquid.  The chutney should be quite thick at this stage.  Allow to let cool.  Cover and refrigerate.  This can be stored in the fridge for up to 2 weeks.

 

With Thanksgiving just around the corner one could add cranberries to this recipe to make an Apple Cranberry Chutney as well.

3 thoughts on “Tis the Season to Tend to the Apple Tree

  1. sharonmcb says:

    Thnx for the recipe – will try it with my pal’s apples!

    XO

    Namaste

    SHARON MCMULLAN-BARON

    Certified Yoga Instructor

    YOGA THRIVE – a gentle yoga programme for cancer patients and survivors

    I am YOGA INSPIRED

  2. This recipe sounds wonderful. Best to make use of your apple abundance while you can.

Leave a Reply

