When is the Write Time?

When is the Write Time?

 

The older I get the more I know, someone wise once said

 

I feel that anxiousness begin before I get out of bed.

 

Then why do I have more to do than I did before?

 

I stagger out of bed and wonder if all of us are falling behind?

 

The older I get the more I wonder if I have lost my mind,

 

The dog urgently needs to go outside, the cats whine to be fed

 

I finally make a coffee and sit and review

 

The list of things I am required to do.

 

I indulge in the fantasy of a life alone

 

I know I would never survive whatever would I do?

 

I have learned to live in this zoo.

 

God as my witness I have tried many things

 

I learned the art of delegation

 

The art of gentle persuasion

 

To sneak in a session for me to write

 

I learned to say NO

 

I learned to let go

 

For I am not perfect, I accept without resistance.

 

But like today, yesterday and tomorrow

 

the list of things I need to do appears to grow

 

There is always that inner struggle

 

to balance it all, to perfect the juggle

 

I try to slink past the pile of creative starts without finishes

 

that stare at me from my office table

 

“I tell them I will come when I am able”

 

One will smile and say sure and yet another will yawn

 

and the Halloween story says it collecting dust

 

to this I respond but I have to do this or that, I must ! I must!

 

I resign myself to closing the door to my writer’s lair

 

For I cannot stand their constant glare.

 

“Good night”, I whisper. ” I will see you soon.”

 

 

Leave a Reply

